BLUES is co-directed by Dr. Serge Egelman and Prof. David Wagner:

Serge Egelman is Research Director of the Usable Security & Privacy Group at the International Computer Science Institute (ICSI) and a research scientist within the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences (EECS) at the University of California, Berkeley. BLUES is the union of his two affiliations. His research focuses on usable privacy and security, with the specific aim of better understanding how people make decisions surrounding their privacy and security, and then creating improved interfaces that better align stated preferences with outcomes. This has included human subjects research on social networking privacy, access controls, authentication mechanisms, web browser security warnings, and privacy-enhancing technologies. He received his PhD from Carnegie Mellon University and prior to that was an undergraduate at the University of Virginia. He has also performed research at NIST, Brown University, Microsoft Research, and Xerox PARC.

David Wagner is Professor of Computer Science at the University of California at Berkeley, with expertise in the areas of computer security, usable security, and systems security. He has published over 100 peer-reviewed papers in the scientific literature and has co-authored two books on encryption and computer security. His research has analyzed and contributed to the security of cellular networks, 802.11 wireless networks, electronic voting systems, and other widely deployed systems.

Postdoctoral Scholars:

  • Alisa Frik

Graduate Students:

  • Noura Alomar
  • Conor Gilsenan
  • Nathan Malkin
  • Nikita Samarin

Undergraduate Students:

  • Joe Deatrick
  • Memo Gonzalez
  • Catherine Han
  • Edward Qiu
  • Allen Tong

Research Staff:

  • Julia Bernd
  • Primal Wijesekera

Visiting Researchers / Affiliates:

  • Nathan Good
  • Marian Harbach
  • Rakib Hasan
  • Joel Reardon
  • Joshua Reynolds

Alumni and Former Members:

  • Tousif Ahmed
  • Arjun Baokar
  • Michael Chen
  • Michelle Chen
  • Matthew Deng
  • David Fifield
  • Ashkan Hosseini
  • James Jia
  • Maritza Johnson
  • Tomasz Kosinski
  • Markus Krause
  • Joong Hwa Lee
  • Joyce Lee
  • Linda Lee
  • Derek Leung
  • Andrew Liu
  • Jason Liu
  • Amber Lu
  • Arunesh Mathur
  • Aaron McFall
  • Pratyush Mishra
  • Leysan Nurgalieva
  • Ehimare Okoyomon
  • Won Park
  • Irwin Reyes
  • Manar Safi
  • Madiha Tabassum
  • Christopher Thompson
  • Lynn Tsai
  • Fah Vorasucha